Go Play Outside Culture Kit

This activity is made possible by The Reach Gallery Museum and the City of Abbotsford. 

MAKE IT!

The Culture Kit contains how-to instructions and all the materials you need to create your own miniature sculpture inspired by a work of art called Cloud Cell by Chinese Canadian artist Xiaojing Yan.

Check out the schedule below to find out when you can pick up a free Culture Kit at a park near you!

In case of bad weather, please check the Abbotsford Parks, Recreation and Culture Facebook or Instagram page for the latest location information.

 

 


Culture Kit Giveaway, 1pm-4pm   Location
Tuesday, July 7   Mill Lake Bevan Entrance
Saturday, July 11   DeLair Park
Wednesday, July 15   Mill Lake Emerson/Waterpark
Sunday, July 19   Swensson Park
Thursday, July 23   Albert Dyck Memorial Park
Wednesday, July 29   Mill Lake Ware Entrance
Thursday, August 6   Eagle Mountain Park
Sunday, August 9   Albert Dyck Memorial Park
Friday, August 14   Swensson Park
Saturday, August 22   Mill Lake Park Emerson/Waterpark
Wednesday, August 26   DeLair Park

LEARN ABOUT IT!

Did you know that Cloud Cell is made of over 13,000 freshwater pearls strung onto hundreds of clear threads and suspended in the air? It’s like a 3D painting made from lines, dots, and space.

Cloud Cell is featured in the exhibition Glimmers of the Radiant Real this summer at The Reach Gallery Museum.

You can learn more about Cloud Cell in this video tour of the artwork with The Reach’s Curator of Art & Visual Culture Adrienne Fast.

 


SEE IT!

See Cloud Cell for yourself at The Reach until August 15, 2020.

The Reach is located at 32388 Veterans Way, Abbotsford BC.

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday-Friday: 10 am – 5 pm

Saturday: 12 pm – 5 pm

Admission is by donation.